Vegetarian Dumpling and Noodle Soup at Dumpling King, Newtown

Dumpling noodle soup. Doesn’t just hearing that make you want to pick up a pair of chopsticks? It sure does me, which is why I’m delighted that there is a wonderful version of the dish right in the middle of of King Street – Vegetarian Dumpling and Noodle Soup at Dumpling King.

To be honest, the number of the times I have walked past Dumpling King and ignored it is pretty tragic. Something about the bright red storefront and matchy-matchy decor sang Aussie-McChinese at me, so I was happy to stay out of its way. But when a friend mentioned it for a fifth time, I thought I should probably give it a go. I’m glad I did!

Turns out, the dumplings and noodles at Dumpling King are completely delicious. Both are handmade, textured just-right and excellent for soaking up soup. The veggie dumplings – with tofu, cabbage, carrot and vermicelli – are probably the best I’ve had. Move over pork ‘n chives!

An adventure to Chinatown is always fun, but it’s good to know there are dumplings and noodles to be slurped right after a shop, trip to the Dendy or Mag Nation sess’. Best rejuvenation food ever.

Dumpling King

The bill: Vegetarian Dumpling and Noodle Soup – $10.80
The service: Table service
Also on the menu: Classic Peking Duck and Pancakes, Seafood Congee, Eggplant Hotpot
Condiments: Soy sauce and chilli oil – very yummy

194 King St 
Newtown, NSW 2042

Dumpling King on Urbanspoon

