Tuesday Daily Special at Maya Vegetarian, Surry Hills

When I was a kid, my grandfather used to taunt me with threats of spinach for dinner. Spinach pie, spinach soup, spinach sandwiches… whatever hideuos green horror he could come up with. Unsurprisingly, I hated spinach. I’m not sure if it was because I actually hated it or had merely been brainwashed into thinking I hated it, but either way, those leafy greens were akin to poison for the good first 12 years of my life.

Thankfully, I grew up, and now actually really like spinach. Which is very handy, considering how many dishes it manages to wriggle its way into.

Still,  when I first discovered saag (Indian spinach curry), I was shy about trying it. It took at least five or six times of watching others eat it before putting it on the table myself. When I finally did? It was love at first bite, and these days, I’ll happily spoon my way through a whole pot.

Maya Vegetarian have Daily Specials from Monday to Friday, and on Tuesdays, it’s this lovely jade-hued mushroom saag. It’s a smoother texture than others, but you only need to look at the colour to know it’s still bursting with green goodness. It’s comes with a choice of rice or bread (go the rice!), as well as cucumber, red onion and pickle. Spinach for dinner? Yes please!

Maya Vegetarian

The bill: Tuesday Daily Special – $9.50
The service: Counter service; really friendly when you’re a regular!
Also on the menu: Dosa, Thali, Idli (steamed rice and lentil cakes)

470 Cleveland St
Surry Hills, NSW 2010
www.mayavegetarian.com.au

Maya Vegetarian on Urbanspoon
.

