Linguine e Gamberi at Mad Pizza e Bar, Newtown

Almost everyone knows how to make a pasta dish. In fact for many of us, it is the first thing we learn to cook –  it certainly was mine.

When I first moved out of home, my pasta eating frequency went from fortnightly to tri-weekly. It was cheap, filling and best of all, I could make it all by myself. I knew of nothing else that was so reliably tasty.

When it came to eating out, on the other hand, I wouldn’t give pasta half a second’s glance. I thought, why pay for something so easily made at home? But while this mindset is valid in some instances (Spagetti Neapolitan at the local pub), I’ve come to realise that at other times, it’s just not. A lot of the time, restaurant pasta has an extra-special something that home pasta never seems to have.

That brings me to Mad Pizza’s Linguine e Gamberi, which according to the menu, is their no. 1 selling pasta of all time. It’s perfectly al-dente, coated in ricotta-enriched sugo and generously endowed with sweet, tender prawns. In other words, a little fancier than Tuesday night’s Latina Fresh!

Maybe one day I’ll be able to make something as glamourous at home, but until then, I’m more than happy to hand over the $12. Yum.

Mad Pizza

The bill: Linguine e Gamberi – $12 at lunchtime ($19.90 at dinner)
The service: Table service
Also on the menu: Pizzas, salads, antipasti. At lunchtime, pizzas are $10 and salads are $12.

135 King Street 
Newtown, NSW 2042
www.madinitalia.com

* There are other Mad Pizza branches at Potts Point, Darlinghurst, Bondi and Surry Hills

Mad Pizza e Bar on Urbanspoon
.

