Soft Tofu Stew at MillioRe Korean Fusion Restaurant, Haymarket

MillioRe

If you’ve been following this blog for even a little bit, you’ll know that I’m pretty big on Asian food. Rice, noodles and tofu are staples, and nearly everything tastes better with a little chilli. It might surprise you then, that I grew up a large part on good old-fashioned Aussie country cooking – corned beef, tuna mornay, and jaffles oozing with tasty cheese.

Though it’s rarely on the menu these days, I still have a soft spot for that sort of homely, hearty comfort food. So imagine my delight when I find this chilli-and-tofu-laden version of it!

Served bubbling in it’s own mini-hotpot, MillioRe’s Soft Tofu Stew satisfies my appetite for the exotic and makes me nostalgic for the food of my childhood. It is sinus-clearing spicy, but rich with country-style vegetables like cabbage, onion and tomato – all things my grandmother would have put in her signature casserole. Rice and a selection of banchan (side dishes) are also included.

phpzSinviPM

It is interesting that Korean is a cuisine that is yet to really take off in Australia, though includes dishes like this I don’t think I would be alone in finding comfort and familiarity in. It can only be a matter of time, I’m sure.

MillioRe Korean Fusion Restaurant

The bill: Soft tofu stew – $11
The service: Table service, fast and cheery
Also on the menu: Bimbimbap, Kimchi Stew, Japchae

Shop G10, 730-742 George St 
Sydney, NSW 2000 

MillioRe Korean Fusion Restaurant on Urbanspoon

 

.

